Service Contact Start                  

The Yenidze Dresden

Tobacco mosque

Method of construction/architecture

Germany's first reinforced concrete skeleton construction, glass dome, 600 differently designed windows, chimneys and ventilation shafts in form of minarets, tiled wall decoration at the west façade – combines art nouveau (Jugendstil) with Moorish elements, the façade in art nouveau (Jugendstil) style is made of granite, coloured concrete stones, brick and painted rendering with lavish decors of specially glazed tiles and red and white ribbons made from artificial sandstone.

Interior Yenidze

The reformation of the Yenidze does not underly a specific fashion trend. Already the foyer with its columns, artistic mosaics and stone cutter’s crafts prepare the visitor for the prestigious interior. The foyer is decorated entirely in red and grey granite, whose modern ornamentation corresponds harmonically with the oriental architecture of the building.

Purpose of the building

The purpose of the Yenidze was to manufacture Oriental cigarettes. Hugo Ziets, (purveyor to the court of the Saxon king) produced "Salem" and other brands. At the time, there were 1500 workers at the factory and its working conditions as well as its social system was exemplary. Women were sitting in long rows and rolled the butts by hand. The light-flooded halls were well ventilated, dust-free and every floor featured washing facilities. On the upper floor, there were a luxuriously equipped canteen and rest areas with canvas chairs. Whenever the staff wanted, they could relax on the roof terrace during lunch breaks. The brands manufactured at the time were Mogul, Murad, Fatima or, very prosaic, "Dreipunkt" (three-point). Until the 1930s, Dresden represented the heart of the tobacco industry in Germany; 40 factories produced more than 60 percent of all tobacco goods. The Yenidze was the largest manufacturing facility for cigarettes in Germany.

Glass dome

The dome with a height of 20 metres, has the form of a four-centred arch that allegedly corresponds to the appearance of the caliph tombs in Cairo. It is colourfully vitrified and illuminated at nighttime. To do so, during the night, two steam machines produce the electricity for the installed arc lamps. “Salem Aleikum” – May Peace be with you – that used to be, until the war, the salutation line in fluorescent letters from the roof. The dome was destroyed during an air raid in February 1945. In 1966, the dome had been vitrified in brown-green, whilst the colourful vitrification resulted from the reconstruction in the 1980s.

Our rooms in the Yenidze

ground plan

  1. Reception desk
  2. Conference room
  3. Daytime office
  4. Toilette
  5. archive
  6. kitchen
  7. Equipment storage room
  8. Utility room

(A) Entrance/Exit
(B) Emergency Exit
(C) Dome Elevator
(D) Elevators
(E) lounge

Interior views

Reception desk Conference room lounge großer Konferenzraum

Büro- und Marketingservice
with office center

top

Service Kontakt Start                  

Die Yenidze Dresden

Entstehungsgeschichte

Bauweise / Architektur

Deutschlands erster Stahlbeton-Skelettbau, Glaskuppel, 600 unterschiedlich gestaltete Fenster, Schornsteine und Entlüftungsschächte als Minarette; in Fliesentechnik ausgeführte Wanddekorationen an der Westfront - verbindet den Jugendstil mit maurischen Elementen, die Fassade im Jugendstil besteht aus Granit, farbigem Betonwerkstein, Ziegel und bemaltem Putz, mit aufwendigen Dekors aus speziellen Kacheln und rot-weißen Bändern aus Kunstsandstein.

Innenausstattung

Die Neugestaltung des Gebäudekomplexes unterliegt keinem Modetrend. Bereits das Eingangsportal mit Säulen, kunstvollen Mosaiken und Steinmetzarbeiten bereitet den Besucher auf das repräsentative Innenleben vor. So ist die Eingangshalle ganz in rotem und grauem Granit gehalten, dessen moderne Ornamentik mit der orientalischen Formensprache des gesamten Gebäudes harmonisch korrespondiert.

Zweck des Gebäudes

Die Yenidze diente der Herstellung von Orientzigaretten; Hugo Zietz (sächsisch-königlicher Hoflieferant) produzierte „Salem“ und andere Marken; die Zigarettenfabrik bot damals 1500 Arbeitsplätze und ihre Innenausstattung war im Arbeitsschutz und im Sozialbereich vorbildlich: In langen Reihen saßen die Frauen in den Sälen und drehten die Glimmstängel von Hand. Die lichtdurchfluteten Hallen waren gut belüftet und staubfrei, auf jeder Etage gab es Waschgelegenheiten. Oben waren die luxuriös ausgestattete Kantine und Ruhezonen mit Liegestühlen eingerichtet. Wer Lust hatte, konnte sich in der Mittagspause auf der Dachterrasse erholen. Die Marken damals hießen Mogul, Murad, Fatima oder ganz prosaisch Dreipunkt. Dresden war bis in die 30er Jahre das Tabakzentrum Deutschlands, 40 Fabriken produzierten über 60 Prozent aller Rauchwaren. Die Yenidze-Manufaktur war die größte Zigarettenfabrik Deutschlands.

Glaskuppel

Die 20 Meter hohe spitzbogige Kuppel, deren Form angeblich den Kalifengrabmälern in Kairo entspricht, ist farbig verglast und wird nachts von innen angestrahlt. Dafür produzierten in der Nacht zwei Dampfmaschinen Strom ausschließlich für die dort installierten Bogenlampen. "Salem Aleikum" - Friede sei mit dir - grüßte bis zum Krieg eine Leuchtschrift vom Dach. Beim Luftangriff im Februar 1945 wurde die Kuppel zerstört. 1966 wurde die Kuppel zunächst nur braun-grün verglast, die bunte Verglasung erfolgte dann bei der Sanierung in den 80er Jahren.

Unsere Räumlichkeiten in der Yenidze

Grundriss

  1. Rezeption
  2. Konferenzraum
  3. Tagesbüro
  4. Toilette
  5. Archiv
  6. Küche
  7. Geräteraum
  8. Technikraum

(A) Ein/Ausgang
(B) Notausgang
(C) Kuppelfahrstuhl
(D) Fahrstühle
(E) Sitzecke

Innenansichten

Rezeption Tagesbüro und Konferenzraum Sitzecke großer Konferenzraum

Büro- und Marketingservice
im Stadtzentrum

top